about tasha fierce

I am… Tasha Fierce.

Although I enjoy talking about myself as much as (if not more than) the next person, I don’t relish writing “bio” pages in general. However, as a reader, I know I like to be able to understand why a writer might hold the views they do, and the only way to provide some kind of context to the otherwise disembodied sociopolitical commentary on the Internet is to read about the background of the author on the “about me” page they invariably provide.

Here, then, is my offering to you, a reader possibly in search of context.

My name is Tasha Fierce. I’m a 37 year old mixed black cisgender woman who identifies as queer but is currently in a long term heterosexual relationship. My politics are radical, and I am an intersectional feminist — emphasis on the intersectional. I believe in the necessity of dismantling white supremacist imperialist capitalist patriarchy all day every day. I am “spiritual” but ultimately agnostic. My sun sign is Aries, my rising sign is Taurus, and my moon sign is Leo. If you dig the Myers-Briggs personality sorting thing, I’m an INTP.

Me and Rob.

Rob and I, whale watching on my birthday.

I have no children and I plan on remaining childless for the rest of my natural life. I am, however, the caretaker of one fluffy orange tabby named Zuri, as well as numerous plants. I also do my part to ensure the wellbeing of my boyfriend, Rob, who is a fourth-grade teacher and martial arts aficionado. We live together in the occupied Tongva/Gabrielino territory known as Los Angeles.

As of June, 2017, I completed an A.A. in Social and Behavioral Sciences and an A.A. in Humanities at Pasadena City College, and I’m working on my bachelor’s in sociology at UCLA as of September of 2017. This is huge for me because my educational plans were majorly derailed by a childhood sexual assault and subsequent mental illness that lasted for over 20 years.

Since I talk about diet and other health related issues here, you might want to know that I was a vegetarian from birth until about age 13. I ate a chicken and I liked it, but I remained primarily vegetarian until 2012, when I decided to convert to being vegan. In 2016, after a serious decline in my dental health due to a lack of certain nutrients, I went back to being vegetarian. I liked the idea of veganism, but I was concerned that my teeth were just not happy with it. Recently, though (August 2017) I decided to go back to a vegan diet, but I supplement with cod liver oil. And honestly, I can’t say no to fried chicken or BBQ no matter how hard I try, so I also allow myself those pleasures from time to time.

Zuri in space!

My cat, Zuri (also the current lock screen background for my phone)

Things I love: revolutionary thought, amateur philosophy, gardening, nature, singing, reading, writing, math, science, learning, growing, loving, laughing

Things I dislike: narrow-mindedness, insecurity, scarcity, stagnation

You can contact me using this form, but be forewarned I am a little slow at answering email while I’m in school. You can also check out my sporadic tweets at @MissTashaFierce, or my garden pics on Instagram.

Love & light,